Super-quick-and-easy Chicken Ranch Tacos

These were so easy to throw together, especially if you have chicken already cooked (but if not, just cook it up, anyway, and chop or shred it). They’d be a great dinner for a busy day.  I found the recipe on Do You Smell That!!?

Mmm!  Looking at this picture, now I want to make them again. :)

1012ChickenRanchTacos

As I typically do with anything Mexican-ish, I paired it with the Guacamole from my America’s Test Kitchen cookbook (best guac I’ve ever had – the first time I made it, I licked off the fork I used, and I was seriously tempted to just dig in again)…
1008ATKGuac

I had some tomatoes to use up, so I also made some Pico de Gallo, with this quick recipe from Martha Stewart.
1001Pico

Chicken Ranch Tacos

Ingredients

  • 3 cups cooked chicken, cut up
  • 1 pkt. taco seasoning — I make my own, since I found this recipe… easy peasy with spices you probably already have on hand
  • 1/2 cup Ranch dressing — I used less, since I was almost out, and it turned out fine

Directions

  1. Heat a skillet on medium-high. Add cooked chicken & warm it for a few minutes. Sprinkle on the dry taco seasoning. Do not add any water! Heat for 5-7 minutes until it’s heated through & powder is stuck to the chicken.
  2. Add Ranch dressing, heat an additional 2-3 minutes to warm through.
  3. Serve with your favorite toppings (and extra Ranch, if desired)

See?  Super quick-and-easy?

America’s Test Kitchen Guacamole

Yield: about 3 cups

Prep time: 15 minutes

Ingredients

  • 3 very ripe Haas avocados, pitted and cut into 1/2-inch cubes (see directions)
  • 1/2 small red onion, minced
  • 1/4 C minced fresh cilantro
  • 2 T fresh lime juice
  • 1 small jalapeño, stemmed, seeded and minced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 t cumin
  • 1/4 t salt

Directions

  1. Cut the avocado in half length-wise, get the pit out (I can sometimes grab the bottom edge of the pit with fingernails, or lodge a knife in the pit and twist it out).
  2. Make cross-hatch slices (diagonal one way, then the other) in the flesh of the avocado, cutting down to but not through the skin. You may want to hold the avocado in a towel to protect your hand.
  3. With a large spoon, scoop the diced avocado from the skin.
  4. Mash two of the avocados to a relatively smooth puree using a fork in a medium bowl.
  5. Fold the cubed avocado and the remaining ingredients into the mashed avocado.

Yum, yum!

Leave a Reply

