Chicken Tzatziki Wraps

I have a newfound respect for food bloggers (and the dedication of bloggers of any type).  I’m not sure what their methods are, because when I’m cooking dinner (and I’ve cooked some delicious ones recently that I would have loved to blog, but…), I just don’t think to take pictures.  (That’s one of my favorite parts of cooking by blog, so I feel like I can’t in good conscience post a meal without having them.)

So, today was a lazy Saturday, and after (my sweet husband made) a breakfast that was closer to lunch, I really didn’t have anything to do.  I’ve been meaning to try these “chicken tzatziki” wraps for months.  Since my mom and I made imitation Olga bread while I was visiting Thursday, (and I swiped a few,) this seemed like the perfect opportunity! (I’ve been meaning to make the Olga bread for these, but I never got around to it, until she suggested it Thursday. :P)

The original pin (Pinterest) I had was from styleathome.com; they’ve apparently updated their recipes, either deleting or renaming this one.   The link from my pin was broken, and I did try searching their site but couldn’t find it.  I panicked for a minute, but then my IT brain kicked in.  I went to Google and copied the recipe from the cached page. 😉

“Grilled Chicken Tzatziki” from styleathome.com

(I halved the original recipe, since I had only 2 chicken breasts defrosted, and 2 Olga breads left.  Even so, it made enough for about 5 wraps, with just my two chicken breasts.)

Prep time: 20-30 mins
Marinate time: 2-4 hours
Cook time: 15-18 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 pitas (I used Olga bread)
  • Extra yogurt for garnish

For chicken marinade:

  • 1/4 cup yogurt
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp fresh lemon juice + 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 tsp hot sauce
  • 1/2 to 1 garlic clove, minced (I used the minced garlic in a jar: 1/2 tsp = 1 clove)
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin (I think I accidentally used 1/2 tsp – luckily I love cumin 😉
  • 1/8 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • Pinch salt
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

For cucumber relish:

  • 1 cucumber, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced (about 2 cups) — I didn’t measure, but it called for an English cucumber, and I figured those are the really long ones, wrapped in plastic. Mine was smaller and yielded about 2 cups.
  • Pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup seeded, finely diced tomato
  • 1/4 cup finely diced red onion
  • 3 Tbsp coarsely chopped and pitted black olives
  • 2 Tbsp coarsely chopped fresh parsley (I used dried for mine: my fresh Rosemary package says triple the amount you would use for dried, so I figured 1/3 of this… 2 tsp dried parsley — unfortunately, I forgot to halve it, so I actually did 4 tsp dried parsley)
  • 1 tbsp coarsely chopped fresh dill (same story as above: 1 tsp dried — I may have accidentally used 2 tsp dried dill  ;))
  • 1/2 garlic clove, minced (1/4 tsp minced garlic in a jar)
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp fresh lemon juice

Directions

To prepare chicken marinade, whisk all ingredients except chicken breasts together in a bowl. Combine marinade with chicken breasts in a large zip-lock bag, seal and gently shake to evenly distribute marinade over chicken. Place in refrigerator and chill for 2 to 4 hours.

Chicken in marinade

Add marinade and chicken to a Ziploc bag and refrigerate 2-4 hours

Meanwhile, prepare the cucumber relish. Lay cucumber slices in a sieve placed over a bowl and sprinkle with pinch of salt. Leave for about 30 to 40 minutes, or until cucumbers soften and their liquid begins to drain into the bowl. Stir occasionally.

Cucumbers in sieve

Salt and drain your cucumbers

Cucumber juice at 40 mins

Cucumber juice at 40 mins. Not much, since they didn’t get stirred. (I was walking to the store after discovering I had no tomatoes or onion. :-/ )

Draining cucumbers after 60 mins

My cucumbers + juice after almost an hour (after I got back and got everything else chopped). Kind of sweaty-looking and nicely draining.

Combine the tomato, onion, olives, parsley, dill, garlic, olive oil and lemon juice in a medium bowl.

Chopped vegetables for dressing

Chop your onion, olives and tomato. Add dill, parsley, olive oil, garlic and lemon.

Stir in drained cucumbers, then cover the bowl and refrigerate for 1 to 2 hours.

Cucumber dressing close-up

Mix it up!

Grease grill (or pan, in my case ;)) and preheat to medium-high (ended up turning this down to medium, because it was burning before cooking through). Remove chicken from zip-lock bag and discard marinade. Grill chicken breasts until cooked through, about 15 to 18 minutes.

Cooking chicken

I cooked the chicken in a little bit of oil.  They smelled so good!

Cooked chicken

A chicken heart… ;P

Remove chicken from grill, let rest for a few minutes and slice thinly on the diagonal.

Sliced chicken

Slice your chicken, whatever thickness you prefer

Lay chicken slices on top of each pita round and divide relish evenly among them (you may find, as we did, there is a LOT of relish to use it all on these). Garnish with a little extra yogurt and serve.

Chicken tzatziki wrap

Even my husband, who doesn’t like olives, loved these – of course, I didn’t tell him it had olives 😉 He didn’t notice until his second (eaten on a tortilla, since we were out of Olga bread — P.S. the Olga bread is worth it for these. Tortillas just didn’t cut it.)

Chicken tzatziki wrap with yogurt

Mmmm!

Honestly, I was a little nervous about this recipe, (particularly the cucumber relish, since I’m not a big fan of parsley or dill,) but maybe using dried worked to my advantage? In any case, it was surprisingly, absolutely delicious!  My husband said this one’s a keeper.

2 thoughts on “Chicken Tzatziki Wraps

  1. Pingback: Olga’s Kitchen Ham and Cheese Club | It was the best of tines...

  2. They look so light and healthy! I love the cucumber relish; its sweetness contrasts nicely with all of the herbs. And you’ll get the hang of photographing as you cook soon enough — or at least the final product!

Leave a Reply

