Chocolate Peanut Butter Breakfast Bars

Peanut Butter Chocolate Bars - Cut

A little crumbly, but super delicious

This one I borrow from Vegan Heartland.  They are so good!  They remind me of Monster Cookies, minus the 12 cups of sugar, or whatever those have, plus… other healthy stuff.  I promise you won’t notice it. 😉  Peanut butter, chocolate and oats are a winning combination, in my book — every time.

I did have to modify the original: I don’t usually have a bunch of nuts and seeds in the house (and I don’t like sesame seeds, anyway). 🙂

I did have sunflower seeds on hand!

In the shell.  Boo.

Since I’m a cheapskate, and I’m also trying to get a handle on our wastefulness (particularly of food), I bit the bullet and shelled them: 1/4 cup.  It might not sound like much, but they don’t add up fast. (They’re little, and my husband kept trying to sneak them out of the bowl.) 😉  My fingers weren’t happy for the rest of the evening.

The end result, however, was worth it – these are (at least somewhat) nutritious and delicious. 🙂  Forget about breakfast, I want to eat them all day long!  They satisfy my sweet tooth, and feel more like real food than most snacks, without making me feel quite so guilty (always a plus). 😛

Peanut Butter Chocolate Breakfast Bars

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1/4 cup – 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Mix together the oats, chia seeds, sunflower seeds, cashews and almonds until well combined.

Add honey.  (I didn’t measure specifically, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t use 1/2 cup — I just drizzled it all over the top, stirred, then drizzled a second time and stirred until coated.  I was afraid 1/2 cup honey would be too sweet — the original called for agave nectar, and I wasn’t quite sure how they compare, but I think honey has a stronger flavor.  In the end, the taste was perfect, but they were very crumbly, so maybe you do need 1/2 cup, just to hold them together.)

Add the peanut butter (mine was hard from refrigeration, so I microwaved it for a few seconds to soften it).  Mix well.

Stir in the chocolate chips. You can use your hands to make sure everything is mixed well.

Grease an 8×8 square baking dish. Pour the mixture into the dish and press firmly down in an even layer. Allow to sit overnight to let the bars set. Cut into squares and serve.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Bars

Pressed into the pan, ready to cut

(If I make them again, I’m going to try bite-size balls, rather than having to cut them into bars.  Since they were so crumbly, it was hard to cut/eat them without a mess; it would be nice to just pop them into my mouth whole. :))

You should definitely whip up a batch… ASAP… and enjoy!

One thought on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Breakfast Bars

  1. Pingback: Raw Vegan Coconut Brownies | It was the best of tines...

Leave a Reply

