Olga’s Kitchen Ham and Cheese Club

Olga's ham and cheese clubOk, ok, so I have no picture for this one (edit: now I do! Only took me 2 years…? Not too shabby. 😉 )… and I actually did think to take one, because I was pretty impressed with my copycat work.

But it was too darn delicious, and I was too darn hungry.

Anyway, I was over at my mom’s on Thursday, and we made imitation Olga bread, as I mentioned in my Chicken Tzatziki Wraps post.  I was driving home, mentally working my way through the Olga’s Kitchen menu to figure out something quick and doable, with the bread I’d swiped for dinner.  Then, I realized that one of my husband’s favorite Olga sandwiches is also one of the easier ones to make.  Here it is, in all its delicious, unhealthy splendor.

Olga’s Kitchen Ham & Cheese Club

Cook/assembly time (not including bread): 15 mins
Yield: 2 sandwiches

  • 6 pc deli ham
  • 3-4 pc Swiss cheese
  • Mayonnaise
  • Dijon mustard
  • Tomato, sliced
  • Onion, sliced
  • 4 Dill pickle sandwich slices
  • 4 pc bacon, fried to taste
  • 2 pc Leaf lettuce
  1. Put ham in a skillet over medium-low heat to warm. (I staggered 3 of them lengthwise, so they overlapped and would fit on the Olga bread.)
  2. Lay Swiss cheese over the ham.  Cover until cheese is melted and ham is warmed through.
  3. Put ham and cheese on a warm Olga bread.
  4. Top with mayonnaise (or plain yogurt, if preferred), Dijon mustard, onion, tomato and dill pickle.

I didn’t have time for bacon, but that’s probably what makes it a “club,” and I’m sure that would be a delicious, if not healthy, addition. 😉 Also, according to the Olga’s menu, theirs has leaf lettuce — I did this from memory, so I missed that, but it was still delicious.

My husband said it was as good as the real thing. (Well, it practically was the real thing. ;))

One thought on “Olga’s Kitchen Ham and Cheese Club

  1. I have that problem too… By the time I’m done making my food, my stomach is growling so loud that it distracts me from taking pictures! Your sandwich sounds good enough to make again, so maybe you’ll get photos the second time around!

Leave a Reply

