Fish, beans and rice… Simple

So, like my breakfast, my lunch tends to be a little boring. I just don’t put any effort into it, so whatever I have on hand goes in the microwave, typically, or I eat it cold. (My husband thinks I’m crazy, but food is food, plus my family stopped using the microwave years ago; we used a convection oven for reheating.  I like the idea of not “potentially” altering the molecular makeup and nutritional value of my food, and I had adjusted to non-use… until I got married.  Now I also have a convection oven, which I would theoretically prefer to use… unfortunately, it has this problem of mysteriously becoming covered with junk that doesn’t have a home, 😕 and the past few months, I’ve been too lazy to dig it out for use [i.e. find a new home, at least temporarily, for everything on top, and in front, of it, so it doesn’t melt] 😦 ) *end microwave vs convection oven personal debate that has nothing to do with this post (ahem)*

The other day, I decided to spice my lunch up a little. I was just in the mood for something other than tamales. 😉 I finally finished those burrito leftovers (effectively slaying two birds with one meal)!  Coming from a family of 9, as I do, it’s difficult to wrap my mind around cooking for 2: it just never seems like enough (so I make more). I thought I had finally done it with those burritos. Apparently not. I also cooked up some of the fish that I bought ages ago and can’t cook for dinner (since my husband doesn’t like fish, if he knows it’s fish 😉 ).

Baked Tilapia, Salsa Beans and Cilantro Rice

Here’s my super-simple-if-you-have-leftovers-but-still-not-terrible-if-you-don’t recipe for baked tilapia, cilantro rice and black beans in salsa:

Baked Tilapia

(I just followed the directions on the bag 🙂 )

Ingredients

  • Tilapia fillet
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Butter
  • Oil spritzer

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425°
  2. Put your tilapia in a shallow baking dish, spritzed with oil (I used a “cooking spray” replacement I found on Pinterest: 1 part olive oil, 5 parts water in a spray bottle [from Dollar Tree]. Shake well before use.)
  3. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Drizzle with butter (or place a couple shavings on top — they’ll melt in the oven).
  4. Bake for 6-15 minutes, until flaky and opaque (mine took about 15, although the package said 6-10).

It wasn’t too fishy, which I enjoyed, although it could have done with a little more spice/flavor.  For a quick and basic recipe, though, I was perfectly happy.

Cilantro-lime Rice

I just used my leftover brown rice. If you’re cooking a fresh batch, I recommend Martha Stewart’s “recipe” — worked like a charm. Growing up, I always hated rice.  Turns out, you can cook it without it being mushy and soggy.  😉

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Melt a cube of cilantro sauce  (or use about 1T, if you make it fresh — I made mine this summer and still had some in the freezer)
  2. Stir it into your rice.
  3. The end

The black beans are even easier (just like they sound). Unbelievable.

Black Beans in Salsa

Ingredients

  • 15 oz can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1C chunky salsa

Directions

  1. Mix black beans with chunky salsa.
  2. Warm and serve.

I picked up some Simple Truth Organic beans at Kroger last week, when they had them on their 10 for $10 sale.  I think I like them.  Wait a minute… what am I talking about?  Black beans?  What’s not to like? 😀

Seriously, though, it’s awesome to find something organic for $1. 🙂  I think I will keep an eye on that brand.

Leave a Reply

