Betty Crocker’s Chicken Fajitas

I’m just going to tell you, because you may not know… Betty Crocker’s Fajita recipe is the best ever!  You won’t believe it until you try it.

Fajita with the works

I never was a fan of fajitas, when my mom would make them.  This is not her recipe, but she did buy me the Betty Crocker Bridal Cookbook, so I still have her to thank for these. 🙂  Interestingly enough, I also got the America’s Test Kitchen cookbook for my bridal shower, and since they try just about every variation on recipes, I really expected theirs to be the better of the two, but it’s not. (I still love that cookbook to death, just not for my fajitas, although I did borrow some of the cooking information from there, so I guess they both get some credit.)

Sometimes I read about other bloggers with their regular dinner rotation (“this one is going into regular rotation at our house, for sure!”), and I just don’t get it.  There are just too many new recipes for me to try to get into that yet, but honestly, this is one of the few things that I do make regularly (at a guess, about once a month).  I usually do steak and chicken, but the chicken is always so much more flavorful; today, I’m just doing chicken.

The key is marinating the chicken, so this is perfect, since I just bought chicken.  I hate defrosting.

Chicken Fajitas

(slightly adapted from Betty Crocker Cookbook, Bridal Edition, and America’s Test Kitchen)

Marinade

Prep time: 5 mins
Marinate: 4-24 hrs
Yield: about 1/2 C

Ingredients

  • 1/4 C vegetable oil
  • 1/4 C red wine vinegar
  • 1 t sugar
  • 1 t dried oregano
  • 1 t chili powder
  • 1/2 t garlic powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 t black pepper

Directions

  1. In a covered dish or plastic Ziploc bag, mix all ingredients.
  2. Trim fat from meat (about 1 lb boneless or 2 to 3 lbs bone-in beef, pork or chicken), and poke holes with a fork, to let the marinade soak in. Add meat to marinade (dish or bag), turning to coat with marinade.  Cover dish or seal bag and refrigerate, turning meat occasionally, for at least 4 hours (not more than 24 — I’m not sure what happens after 24 hrs, if the meat explodes or disintegrates, or something? ;))
  3. Remove meat from marinade; reserve marinade.  Cook meat as desired (I cook it in a little oil over medium heat, in my Orgreenic 12″ pan that I love so very, very much), brushing occasionally with marinade.
  4. If you have extra marinade after cooking, you can boil it, stirring constantly, for 1 minute, then serve it as a sauce with the fajitas.  (In my opinion, it’s better just to use it in the cooking.)

For the rest…

Prep time: 15-30 mins
Cook time: 20-30 mins
Yield: 6 servings

Ingredients

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (recipe calls for 1 1/2-lb beef boneless top sirloin steak, 1 1/2 inches thick), marinated for 4-24 hrs
  • 2 large onions, sliced
  • 2 medium bell peppers, cut into 1/4-inch strips
  • 12 flour torillas (8 to 10 inch)
  • Salsa
  • Shredded cheddar or Monterey Jack cheese
  • Guacamole (I usually pair these fajitas with the America’s Test Kitchen Chunky Guacamole, but this time, I paired with Cilantro Cream Sauce from Mrs. Happy Homemaker.)
  • Sour cream

Directions

  1. Slice your onions and peppers.
  2. Spray your pan with oil (or add about 1T – it doesn’t need much, because you’ll be adding more in the marinade), and heat over medium.
  3. Take your chicken from the marinade, slice it width-wise (about 1/2″ slices, or as thin as you can — raw chicken is a little difficult to handle), and add it to the oil.  Spoon marinade over chicken occasionally as it cooks.
  4. When the chicken is fully cooked, remove it from the pan, and cover it to keep it warm.

    Cooked, marinated chicken

    Mmm, here’s a peek at the cooked chicken going under cover.

  5. Cook your veggies in the marinade left in the pan, until crisp-tender.

    Fajita veggies cooking

    Look at those colors! Love!

  6. Add the chicken back in to warm it all together, and serve!

    Mix chicken with veggies

    Mix it up!

Of course, feel free to add any additional toppings you enjoy, besides those listed in ingredients: lettuce, tomato, rice, beans, etc. 🙂  I didn’t even stick closely to the listed ingredients this time: aside from the Cilantro Cream Sauce, I added lettuce and avocado. Yum!

805FajitaLoaded

I hope you enjoy these as much as we do!

Fajita with the works

2 thoughts on “Betty Crocker’s Chicken Fajitas

  1. This recipe IS delicious. My whole family loves it — kids too. Many thanks for posting it because I can’t find my Betty Crocker fajita recipe and I’ve wanted to make it for a long time.

Leave a Reply

