Raw Vegan Coconut Brownies

Raw Vegan Coconut Brownies

This is the first year I’ll have to do taxes for my business.  I’ve been working on getting all of my information straight since this morning, and I just needed a break.  Brownies sounded good, too.

I found this recipe one day on Food Doodles, while I was making her “Real” Breakfast Cookies (which, by the way, were also quite tasty)… and, although the name and ingredients sounded questionable (I’m far from hardcore healthy, although I’m trying to be better), the picture got my attention, and I’ve been dying to try them.  I ran right out to get some dates, but I didn’t get around to making them until today, when, in the midst of my frustrations with taxes and shoddy Websites that time out without notifying you, (so that all of your info doesn’t save and you’re left wondering why…), I suddenly needed a break… and brownies.

These are seriously delicious.  A little crumbly (then again, maybe I’m just really bad at pressing things into pans, as with the Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars), but they are chocolatey, coconutty goodness.  And I love their simplicity.

Raw Vegan Coconut Brownies

Yield: 12 1″ brownies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 C raw almonds(or sub walnuts)
  • 1/4 C unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 C packed medjoul dates
  • 1/4 C unsweetened cocoa powder
  • pinch sea salt
  • dash vanilla

Directions

  1. Line a loaf pan with plastic wrap or parchment paper for easy removal and set aside.
  2. Add the almonds and coconut to the food processor and process until no large pieces of almond remain.  Pour the almonds into a bowl and set aside.
  3. Place the dates into the food processor and process until the dates are broken up and come together in a “dough” that looks almost like a paste. (My Ninja food processor/blender has 3 speeds – I had to use the highest one for this to work, and it started thunking and shaking when it came together into the “dough,” so I knew it was done. :P)
  4. Add the almonds and coconut and the cocoa powder, salt and vanilla and pulse until combined.  Don’t over mix, but be sure that everything is completely combined.  (It will still be crumbly, but you just don’t want to see the individual ingredients sitting in the corner of the bowl.)
  5. Pour the mixture into the prepared loaf pan and pres down firmly and smooth out the surface.
  6. Pull the brownies out and place on a cutting board and slice into 12 2-bite sized brownies.
  7. Dust with cocoa powder or leave plain to serve.
  8. Store in an airtight container on the counter or in the fridge for up to a couple weeks.

Mine will not last a couple weeks, I can tell you right now.  I’ve already eaten a full row.  They’re not exactly a typical brownie, but I thought they were surprisingly non-‘healthy-tasting’ — they’re just… enjoyable!  So enjoy!

Leave a Reply

